On arrival in 1851 Rev. Hill engaged Thomas Nicholson, a Hereford Architect, who designed a new vicarage in the Georgian style alongside the dilapidated church only separated by a privet hedge. Having established a new parsonage the Rev. Hill set about completely rebuilding the church. In 1853 Nicholson drew up some new plans which included some Norman features with windows in 13th Century Lancet style. W. E. Martin completed the building work in 1854. A watercolour painted in 1850 of the church confirms the complete rebuild.
Four bells, cast in Whitechapel foundry in East London, engraved 1854, were installed in the new stone castellated Tower. A fifth bell, engraved in memory of ‘Melsup Hill 1869’ (Rev. Hill’s daughter?) was installed. On the roof of the Tower there is an Oak Shingled Spire, at the pinnacle is a weathers cock, probably of pre 1854 shown in the watercolour of 1850.
In about 2007 the access footpath from the Lych Gate to the church door was repaired and up-dated in line with the current Disability Access Act.
The atmosphere of the interior of this small rural church is warm and friendly. It exudes peace and tranquillity suited to its purpose of a Grade II listed building. ‘A closeness to God pervades the atmosphere’.
The setting of this Grade II church, on its slightly elevated site down a narrow country lane, is most charming and welcoming. The approach to the church porch is a gentle climb rewarded by a splendid 180 panorama.